I did it!

I stepped on the scale. I always heard you’re supposed to breathe out first, then step on it. So I did it. One foot at a time I stepped on the scale. I closed my eyes, waited a second, then opened them one at a time. Wait, what’s that number?? I wiped the dust off my scale to see the numbers a little more clearly. Yup. The scale doesn’t lie. How did I get here? I always told myself that I’m not going to be the woman who carries the baby weight, I’m going to lose it right away.  I breast-fed and I was told it helps the weight melt off. Apparently I’m the only one who can prove that wrong! 19 months later and it’s still there. My husband (his name is Pat) has been amazing. He loves me thin, thick, extra pregnant, with or without baby weight and I’m so thankful for that. He’s an amazing man for dealing with the awful things I say about my appearance. He calls me beautiful and loves my body. If I could only love my body..

I think my expectations for dropping baby weight was unrealistic. I work full-time, then come home to care for my son and my household. Yes, I say that knowing that a lot of days I will come home from work, turn the TV on and sit there til its time for bed. Bad habits can be hard to break! My first steps is eating better and exercising. I’m stopping the excuses for not working out. Standing on the scale was a huge bitch slap in the face from the skinny woman inside me (she’s also the woman who tells me to eat another cookie). So I’ve started my long journey to feeling comfortable in my own skin, and becoming more healthy.  I’m hoping to drop the weight by Spring 2014. I have a lot of exciting things coming up in my life and I want to feel great about it and not always worry about covering myself up. So here’s to losing weight, becoming healthy, and to stop speaking negatively about myself!

scale

One thought on “I did it!

Leave a Reply

