Since I’ve become a mom…

I have been a mother for 21 months. Doesn’t seem like a long time, as a matter of fact I still feel like it was yesterday that I was cradling my newborn. Now he’s a big boy, but will always be my little baby. So here’s my list of things I’ve encountered or gone through in the last 20 months. Some of these are even shocking for me!

Poop. Lots of it. Everyone laughs about poop except when it’s half way up your arm, half way down their back, and only 2 wipes left in the container. I’ve never talked about poop so much in my life.

Boogers. Picking your nose is so gross but Picking your kids nose is necessary and it doesn’t matter where you are. Tissues are optional except when they’re sick. Nothing says motherhood more thank sucking the snot out of your screaming child’s raw, red nose.

I have never lost so much stuff in my life. Every day we lose a hat, a sock, a shoe, and sunglasses. I have old ladies trailing me in the grocery store to give me shoes we lost 4 aisles ago. Is it wrong to want to use double sided tape on him? I’m kidding..maybe just Velcro.

Feeding time is similar to feeding time at the zoo. Actually that may be less messy. By the end of every meal I have a handful of chewed food. It never fails. It’s like hey, I’m getting full so I should chew this bite for mommy and spit it in her hand. No child, I don’t want it! Oh and Ralphie from A Christmas Story had it right. I haven’t had a hot meal in 21 months and counting! As soon as I sit, he throws a fork, cup, chicken nugget, bib, another fork… Cold food it is!

Yes I’m complaining but I wouldn’t change it for the world. We are approaching the “terrible 2’s” but I have loved every second of this journey. I guess I never really knew how it would change my life becoming a mother. I love my son in a way I never knew I could. Every smile, laugh, booger, and mess mean I’m doing something right.

20131008-150025.jpg

20131008-150200.jpg

One thought on “Since I’ve become a mom…

Leave a Reply

